PRNDI Elects New President, Board Members

Jun 25, 2016

Terry Gildea of KUER in Salt Lake City has been elected PRNDI's new president. Gildea has been an at-large member of the board for the last three years.  He was elected by acclamation to replace George Bodarky of WFUV, who is completing his second and final term.

PRNDI membership also elected board members to represent stations with medium-sized newsroom staffs, and two at-large members.

Terry Gildea

In comments after being elected, Gildea said he hoped to build stronger relationships between PRNDI and NPR, especially concerning collaborations involving member stations and the network.  He said he wants PRNDI to capitalize on its training programs, and look for ways to present them in other venues. Gildea says he wants the organization to be "a resource for information, and a gathering place for innovators."

The board members elected Saturday are:

Bill Dorman of Hawaii Public Radio -- Medium station representative.

Deanna Garcia of WESA in Pittsburgh -- At-large representative.  

Naomi Starobin of Keystone Crossroads at WHYY in Philadelphia -- At large representative, filling the final year of Gildea's unexpired term.

Starobin previously served on the board from 2008 to 2014, when she was News Director at WSHU in Fairfield, Conn. She now becomes the first non-news director elected to the PRNDI board since bylaws regarding board eligibility were changed last year.  

The contest for the at-large representative slots was especially competitive, with six people running.